Finding the Paradise in Oia Santorini!!

Oia, which is famous for her “Yposkafa” (Dwellings carved in rock), “Kapetanospita” (Captain’s Houses) and Chapels, is a unique model of Cycladic architectural. Oia has the island’s world most famous sunset and is also one of the most beautiful part of Santorini.

 Oia is divided to two sections, with a central road, Nomikos Street. One part is facing the caldera cliffs where the “Yposkafa” (Houses carved in volcanic rocks) are located, and the other part, have the conventional houses, the so-called “Kapetanospita” (captain’s house). “Yposkafa” used to be inhabited by crewmembers only. On the contrary, “Kapetanospita” used to be the ship owners’ homes.

Her History

In the Middle Ages (1335), Oia was one of the “Castelos” (fortresses) of the island erected by the Venetians. It was called “Agios Nikolas” Castles’ or “Panomerea”. The district was handed over to the noble family of the Dargentas, who were Latinized Greeks. To be protected from pirate invasions, they built a tower with an observatory, called “Goulas”. This tower included all residence, the greatest of all belonging to the Castellan of Panomerea (Duke Dargenta). In 1579, the site passed to the Ottomans for the next 250 years. Following the Ottoman Occupation, the regional economy flourished. It was then that “Pano Meria” (the upper side) changed its name to Oia.

The sunset

The ideal spot to admire the sunset is the Castle’s Walls and the surrounding cobbled paths. Keep in mind that the best sunsets are not in summer!

Visiting the maritime museum of Oia

A unique voyage to the maritime history of Santorini by lingering over rare and unique exhibits.

Tel.: +30 22860 71 156.

Opening hours: 10:00-14:00 and 17:00-20:00, weekdays except Tuesday until 15th November.

Discover Ammoudi

You can reach Ammoudi from the road along the sea or by taking the 214 steps connecting Ammoudi with Oia. Go to Ammoudi for fresh fish about an hour before the sunset and get seduced by the sun slowly plunging into the sea.

Around the neighbourhoods

The first district we meet in Perivolas, with the church of Agios Georgios. Walking along the central marble-paved street with the two large domes (St Spyridon and Resurrection Churches), we come to the district called Monastery. Getting to Oia from the road below, we arrive in Sideras with its magnificent “Kapetanospita”.

Wine tasting

Visit wineries, sit in the garden under the vineyard, taste the wines and delight in the spectacular sea view. There are many wineries around the city and along the sea road of Oia.

Oia, which is famous for her “Yposkafa” (Dwellings carved in rock), “Kapetanospita” (Captain’s Houses) and Chapels, is a unique model of Cycladic architectural. Oia has the island’s world most famous sunset and is also one of the most beautiful part of Santorini.

 

 Oia is divided to two sections, with a central road, Nomikos Street. One part is facing the caldera cliffs where the “Yposkafa” (Houses carved in volcanic rocks) are located, and the other part, have the conventional houses, the so-called “Kapetanospita” (captain’s house). “Yposkafa” used to be inhabited by crewmembers only. On the contrary, “Kapetanospita” used to be the ship owners’ homes.

 

Her History

 

In the Middle Ages (1335), Oia was one of the “Castelos” (fortresses) of the island erected by the Venetians. It was called “Agios Nikolas” Castles’ or “Panomerea”. The district was handed over to the noble family of the Dargentas, who were Latinized Greeks. To be protected from pirate invasions, they built a tower with an observatory, called “Goulas”. This tower included all residence, the greatest of all belonging to the Castellan of Panomerea (Duke Dargenta). In 1579, the site passed to the Ottomans for the next 250 years. Following the Ottoman Occupation, the regional economy flourished. It was then that “Pano Meria” (the upper side) changed its name to Oia.

 

The sunset

The ideal spot to admire the sunset is the Castle’s Walls and the surrounding cobbled paths. Keep in mind that the best sunsets are not in summer!

 

Visiting the maritime museum of Oia

A unique voyage to the maritime history of Santorini by lingering over rare and unique exhibits.

Tel.: +30 22860 71 156.

Opening hours: 10:00-14:00 and 17:00-20:00, weekdays except Tuesday until 15th November.

 

 

 

 

Discover Ammoudi

You can reach Ammoudi from the road along the sea or by taking the 214 steps connecting Ammoudi with Oia. Go to Ammoudi for fresh fish about an hour before the sunset and get seduced by the sun slowly plunging into the sea.

 

 

 

Around the neighbourhoods

The first district we meet in Perivolas, with the church of Agios Georgios. Walking along the central marble-paved street with the two large domes (St Spyridon and Resurrection Churches), we come to the district called Monastery. Getting to Oia from the road below, we arrive in Sideras with its magnificent “Kapetanospita”.

 

Wine tasting

Visit wineries, sit in the garden under the vineyard, taste the wines and delight in the spectacular sea view. There are many wineries around the city and along the sea road of Oia.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply